Poetry – Loves Journey


I used to think you were the one for me

I used to think together we would live so happily

You’ve proved me wrong more times than one

Still I couldn’t let go, we had hardly even begun

They all said we were perfect for each other

They all said we would be the ones to outlast all the others

They said

 

I used to think that love could conquer all

I used to think you would be the one to catch me if I fall

You’ve proved to be my best mistake yet

Still I couldn’t let go, I had to see how much further we could get

They all said he never got over you

They all said he wants to be the best for you

They said

 

I used to think I was your yin to your yang

I used to think I needed you to be able to do my thing

You’ve proved to me that your yang matches up with more than one yin

Still I couldn’t let go, not now and definitely not then

They all said maybe it’s time you thought about moving on

They all said how much longer can this go on

They said

 

I used to think I needed you to complete me

I used to think without you I could never be happy

I’ve proved I don’t need you any more than you need me

Still I couldn’t let go till I found the batteries

I said I don’t need you anyway

I said one day you’re going to pay

I said

Leave a Reply

