Poetry – What’s Next?


What’s Next?

Excuse me for a minute while I clear my throat

I’ve got a lot to say and I don’t want to choke

You see I’ve been sitting on this for ten years

And I don’t know how much longer I can hold back the tears

When we first met, you were the man of my dreams

Or at least for a time that’s exactly how it seemed

Seven months in, you came at me with a grin

Standing on two feet you asked me for my hand

Without hesitation I said, “yes”

Never once stopped to think about what was best

Another year later we moved in with the family

So long to the honeymoon, no more living happily

The ring came off and the dark side came out

Is it me who’s tripping? What’s that all about?

If you don’t want to love me, I’ll find someone who will

Call me out of character? Boy, are you for real?

I’ve got a lot of patience but I don’t how much more I can take

Keep talking smack. I can find a new mate.

I aint got time for the drama. I’m done crying for you.

After five long years what do you expect me to do

Leave a Reply

