Poetry – Letter to my Son


Letter to my Son

I should be the mother of a teenager

At least he would have been a teenager next year

After twelve long years I still wonder

Who would you be if you were still here

A girl maybe, but a boy I’d prefer

A singer or an actor drawing the crowds near

A dreamer or an athlete just like your father

I want you to know that no matter what you hear

I never once wanted to be a murderer

We loved you we did, and if it wasn’t for our fear

You’d be alive today with your mother and father

Forgive us please, as we wish you were here

Wrapped in our arms awaiting another year

 Love Always, Mommy

Leave a Reply

