In need of medical assistance


How do you know you have commitment phobia?  Well, there’s no easy way to answer it, because the definition in itself can mean a number of things but according to the website at http://www.buzzle.com/articles/commitment-phobia.html here are a few things you can look for:

1. One common symptom, which is also prominent, is a scenario wherein the phobic partner breaks away from a relationship and somehow turns up with an intention to start all over again. Once every thing is settled, his fear starts cropping up again and sabotaging the relationship.

2.  The affected person will tend to develop unrealistic ideals such as getting closer to someone he/she likes and when the other person wishes to take the relationship to the next level, the phobic person thinks of escaping the situation.

3.  Commitment phobia is the fear and avoidance of having to commit to anything, relationships in particular

Hmmm, number 1? Check.  Number 2? Check. Number 3? Check.  Yep, I’m pretty sure I’ve got comitment phobia.  Now, I didn’t always used to be this way.  I used to dream of falling in love with my highschool sweetheart and getting married, just like my parents had done.  Unfortunately that’s not exactly what God had in mind for me.  My highschool sweetheart and I broke before I had graduated and I married a guy that I met while serving Uncle Sam.  Even though my marriage started off great it only lasted for five long years.  And now, for some reason I just simply can not commit to a relationship.  It’s the weirdest thing.  Everything will start out beautiful but as soon as I start feeling like we’re settling in with each other I go into panick mode.  Don’t get me wrong I still dream of one day getting married and living happily ever after but for the moment it seems to continuously elude my grasp.   And it’s for that reason that I’ve decided to fly solo.  How can I ask anyone to get on the plane with me if I’m constantly trying to push him out every 4 months? 

 Well, there you have it.  I am one sick woman.  Is there a doctor in the house????

Leave a Reply

